2017 GTCF Foundation of Art Award

An exhibit honoring the ten Pierce County visual artists nominated for the 10th Foundation of Art Award, given by the Greater Tacoma Community Foundation.

September 4 – October 19, 2017

Opening Reception
Third Thursday, September 21, 2017
5 PM – 9 PM – 
Art – Music – Appetizers

Greater Tacoma Community Foundation will honor ten Pierce County visual artists for the 10th Foundation of Art Award in recognition of the growth of the local arts community since the Award’s inception. This year’s awardees span a wide range of artistic mediums, from painting and sculpture, to fabric and letterpress.


The following artists will showcase their work at a dedicated Spaceworks Gallery show and receive $1,000 each: Mindy Barker, Heather Cornelius, Todd Jannausch, Janet Marcavage, Gillian Nordlund, Nicholas Nyland, Chandler O’Leary, Saiyare Refaei, Kenji Stoll, and Chandler Woodfin. The awardees’ art will be on display at Spaceworks Gallery from September 4 to October 19, 2017.

As part of the event, a newly commissioned video will be premiered. The video will highlight past Foundation of Art Award recipients sharing stories and lessons from working as artists in Pierce County.

This year, Greater Tacoma Community Foundation partnered with Spaceworks Tacoma to produce the 10th Foundation of Art Award Gallery Show. The selection panel for the 10th Foundation of Art Award included Amy McBride, Sean Alexander, Jeremy Mangan, Elise Richman, and Christopher Paul Jordan.

The previous nine Foundation of Art Award recipients were Chris Sharp in 2008, Jeremy Mangan in 2009, Lisa Kinoshita in 2010, Jessica Spring in 2011, Oliver Doriss in 2012, Shaun Peterson in 2013, Elise Richman in 2014, Christopher Paul Jordan in 2015, and Sean Alexander in 2016. Artwork created by past awardees for GTCF will also be on display at the Spaceworks Gallery show.

Tacoma, WA
Monday – Friday 1 – 5 pm
(Third Thursday 1 – 9 pm)