Spaceworks is Honored with New Tacoma Award

Just in – Spaceworks Tacoma received the inaugural “Public Places Award” from the Chamber of Commerce at the New Tacoma Awards held today! Thanks to all our partners, in particular, Spaceworks artists, and property owners Eric Cederstrand, Herb Simon, Ted Johnson, Steve Shaub, George and Al Howe, and Ruby Chambers; and property managers Shannon Tiegs of Roberson Building Co., and Michael Norman of Neil Walter Co. Together, we are making downtown Tacoma a more vibrant and engaging place to live!

The Barefoot Collective are among the Spaceworks-supported artists energizing vacant spaces in T-town.

In addition, Spaceworks was nominated for “The Ghilarducci Award,” recognizing successful new development, renovation or beautification in Tacoma. Nominees included the Joy Building (University of Washington), and Ben Gilbert Park, with honors going to the Joy Building.

Each year the Tacoma-Pierce County Chamber’s New Tacoma Awards recognize businesses, organizations and individuals making outstanding contributions to downtown Tacoma.  The “Public Places Award” is a new category this year recognizing the best activation of a public park, open space, or area in the public right-of-way. Along with Spaceworks Tacoma, the Frost Park Chalk Artists, and Projecting Drop, a downtown installation by artist Jill Anholt, were nominated for the honor.

Leave a Reply